Facebook is constantly adding new features to it’s Messenger client and has now defaulted to using the same text on it’s app update. Live Location is the latest to join the list of features that Facebook has added and is similar to Apple’s Find my friends.
Live Location lets Messenger users temporarily share an accurate up-to-date location with friends and family, and unlike the Find my Friends app Live Location works across both iOS and Android and for up to one hour by default and updates in the background when activated.
You can turn Live Location off at any time after it’s been activated and a countdown timer lets you know how much longer your location will be shared before you’ll need to re-enable it or it expires and is a handy feature to let your contacts track your progress when you’re on your way or find your current location if you’re meeting somewhere.
To share your Live Location in a message on iOS, tap the Location icon or tap the More icon and then select Location.
With today’s update, you’ll see a map of your current location and the option to tap a blue bar to share your Live Location.
If you choose to share your Live Location, the person or people you share it with will be able to see where you are on a map for the next 60 minutes.
You’ll be able to see an estimate of how long it would take to get to others’ locations by car. (The ETA is seen by the person with whom the location is shared.)
You can stop sharing your Live Location at any time; just tap Stop Sharing.
A small clock in the lower right hand corner of the map will also let you know how much longer you’re sharing your location for.
The new Live Location feature in Messenger is rolling out globally now and users should start to see updates soon.