Google translate adds five new languages for the first time in four years

Google has confirmed that it has added support for five languages: Kinyarwanda, Odia (Oriya), Tatar, Turkmen and Uyghur to Google Translate. These languages are spoken by more than 75 million people worldwide, and are the first languages to be added to Google Translate in four years.

Millions of people around the world use Google Translate, whether in a verbal conversation, or while navigating a menu or reading a webpage online. The addition expands the capabilities of Google Translate to 108 languages. Translate learns from existing translations, which are most often found on the web. Google says that due to advancements in their machine learning technology, coupled with active involvement of the Google Translate Community, they have been able to add these which would normally prove difficult to translate.